By David Silva Ramirez

The Fort Worth Star-Telegram has won 18 awards from the Texas Associated Press annual editor’s competition, including five top prizes.

The Star-Telegram competes in the highest ranking. The awards were announced on Tuesday.

Nichole Manna, Yffy Yossifor, and Steve Wilson received the Star Online Package of the Year for their work on a series exploring the issues of ZIP code 76104, which has the lowest life expectancy in Texas. The report also received second place in community service.

Mark Dent received the Celeste Williams Star Sportswriter of the Year award. His work included stories about the struggles of high school teams to keep COVID-19 out of sports and the television breakdowns of Dallas Cowboys games from the 1960s to 1990s. He also received third place in the Star Reporter of the Year category. mention of recognition for reporting and sports reporting.

Mac Engel won first place in sports column writing. His columns explored Patrick Mahomes’ hometown and featured the last places in the Cowtown Marathon. Engel also ranked second in writing general columns for non-sporting articles on the pandemic.

Yossifor won first place in Video Shorter than Two Minutes for her feature film about a junior from Kennedale High School who runs track and field and cross country despite being blind. Amanda McCoy won first place in Video Longer than Two Minutes for her work on how North Texans navigate the work environment in a post-COVID world.

Manna received second place in community service for her streak on zip code 76104.

McCoy received second place in Video Shorter than Two Minutes for his coverage of a demonstration on the 7th Street Bridge that ended when police dispersed the crowd with tear gas.

Yossifor’s video on 76104 received second place for Video Longer than Two Minutes. His photo of Dak Prescott after his ankle injury earned him an honorable mention.

Drew Davison’s feature film about a TCU basketball player trafficked as a teenager received second place in the Sports Feature.

Gordon Dickson received third place for Business Reporting for his story on high house prices amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Opinion writer Ryan J. Rusak was awarded third place in the Star Opinion Writer of the Year category. His work included a front-page editorial urging Fort Worth residents to wear masks.

Texas Rangers defeated writer Jeff Wilson was awarded third place for Celeste Williams Star Sportswriter of the Year. The award is named after the longtime former Star-Telegram sports writer who died in 2017.

Brian Gosset received an honorable mention for his sports reporting on a boy with cancer who fulfilled his dream of playing for the Brewer basketball team.

David Silva Ramirez

David Silva Ramirez is a Star-Telegram general information multimedia reporter who lived in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex for nearly two decades. He is passionate about covering government, local communities, and compelling features. You can contact David at [email protected] or on Twitter @ByDavidSilvaR.