AUSTIN, Texas (KAMR/KCIT) — Officials from the Headliners Foundation (HF) awarded 20 journalism students from Texas with more than $86,800 in scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year.

According to a press release from HL, the awards were given to 19 undergraduates and one graduate student at schools across the state showing outstanding potential in journalism. This year, the Foundation introduced two new scholarships: the Ellen and Mark Morrison Scholarship and the George A. McElroy Scholarship.

Officials added that not only were strong academic records and writing ability essential, but applicants must also have demonstrated an interest in journalism by working in student media or as interns for professional media. The scholarships range from $3,000 to $6,000 each.

The recipients are:

  • Sarah and Ernest Butler Scholarship Jacqueline KnoxBoerne, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • George Christian Scholarship Adeline CostelloAustin, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • Stuart Long Memorial Fellowship for Aspiring Journalists Sarah Hernández, San Marcos, Texas State of Texas. University and Hope UngerAustin, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • Verne Lundquist Scholarship Drake TollVilonia, AR Baylor University.
  • George A. McElroy Scholarship Aysia LanePlano, TX Southern Methodist University.
  • Ellen and Mark Morrison Scholarship Megan TranHouston, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • Darrell K. Royal Scholarship Nathanael SmithPorter, Texas Baylor University.
  • Jimmy Banks Scholarship and Jack Keever Scholarship Fiza KuzhiyilAustin, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • Barry Bishop Scholarship Madelyn WeirichSan Marcos, Texas Texas State University.
  • Dolly and Paul Bolton Scholarship Haeven GibbonsGeorgetown, Texas Christian University of Texas.
  • John “Brick” Elliott Scholarship Brian YancelsonSan Antonio, Texas Trinity University.
  • Sam Wood Scholarship Matt KyleWaco, Texas Baylor University.
  • Wilbur Evans Scholarship Leila SaidaneRichardson, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • George Moore Scholarship Sims PeytonTexarkana, TX The University of Texas at Austin.
  • Founders Scholarship George SchröderFort Worth, Texas Baylor University.
  • Founders Scholarship Soksan TengPlano, TX Southern Methodist University.
  • Bess Whitehead Scott Scribes Scholarship, Jacqueline KingstonAmarillo, TX West Texas A&M University.

For more information on the Fellows, including brief biographies and photos, please visit, here.

“Our 2022-23 fellows are clearly committed to producing innovative, thoughtful, and relevant work,” said Patti C. Smith, chair of the foundations Academic Excellence Committee and international media consultant. “The high quality of applications and work samples we received this year tells a story in itself,” Smith said. “I have great confidence in the future of Texas journalism.” Patti Ohlendorf, chair of the Foundation’s Board of Governors, agrees. “We are so proud of this year’s scholarship recipients,” Ohlendorf said. “The growth of our fellowship program over the past few years reflects our commitment to training young journalists,” she said, “and we are delighted to introduce two new fellowships for the 2022-23 academic year.” .

For more information on the scholarship program, visit here.