ANNAPOLIS, Maryland—The Navy’s annual football banquet was held Friday night at Alumni Hall where several prestigious awards were presented.

main linebacker Diego Faggot (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) was named the winner of the EE “Rip” Miller Award, which is given to the most valuable player of the season as voted on by his teammates.

Fagot, who was one of four Navy team captains, ended his career on a high note in the Navy’s 17-13 victory over the Army. He led the team with nine tackles, including teaming with a second defensive end Jacob Busic on the last stoppage of the game, and made a four-yard run on a surprise fake punt that landed a critical first down and set up the final three points of the competition for Navy.

Fagot led the Mids in tackles with 94 and 11 tackles for loss. He was named first-team All-AAC, All-East, and fourth-team All-American by Phil Steele. He is only the third Navy player in school history to lead the team for three consecutive years, joining Josh Smith (2002-04) and Andy Ponseigo (1981-83). Tackles were not retained until 1970. Fagot was also named defensive MVP of the East-West Shrine Game.

senior back Luck Warren (Company, Alabama) was named the winner of the Napoleon McCallum Award, which is given to the Navy college football player in the promotion who has gained the most all-around yards in his career.

Warren, who was one of four Navy team captains, finished his career with 1,229 all-around yards and 10 touchdowns.

Warren also received the Joe Bellino Award, given to the college football player whose inspirational performance on the field has had a significant impact on the team and contributed to its overall success during the season.

Warren was a spark plug for the Mids in 2021, rushing for 260 yards and a touchdown, catching 11 passes for 169 yards and three touchdowns, completing his only pass for 16 yards, returning 13 punts for 139 yards and returning a kickoff for 19 yards. His biggest rush of the year was a 26-yard backhand run against Army which scored a touchdown.

Senior Safety Kevin Brennan (Westfield, New Jersey) was named the recipient of the Roger Staubach Award, which is given to the college football player who has demonstrated consistent, exceptional leadership and an “Expect to Win” attitude in contributing to the team’s success over the of the season and embodied honor, courage and commitment on and off the playing field.

Brennan, who was one of four Navy captains, saw his senior season come to an end in Game 5 of the year when he suffered a shoulder injury against SMU. Despite the prognosis, Brennan never lowered her head and continued to come to position meetings and helped mentor young Navy safeties. Brennan served as a de facto assistant coach in both practice and games and was a key contributor to improving the Navy’s defense over the season.

Brennan finished his career with 169 tackles, four tackles for loss, three interceptions and 10 pass breakups.

Senior full-back Isaac Ruoss (Mohton, Pennsylvania) was named the winner of Cmdr. Ralph Sentmann Award, which honors the highest-ranking member of the college football team class in the Academic Order of Merit.

Ruoss has a 3.89 grade point average while majoring in quantitative economics and has completed a wide range of STEM courses including physics, electrical engineering, thermodynamics, and aeronautics. He was also named a CoSIDA Second-Team Academic All-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America in the fall.

On the ground, Ruoss led the contenders in rushing this season with 641 yards and five touchdowns.

Ruoss also won the Jeffrey R. Korn Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award, which is given annually to the top student on the team who has demonstrated excellence both in the classroom and on the football field.

Senior wide receiver Michael Salisbury (Shelbyville, TN) was named the recipient of the First Lieutenant Ron Winchester Unsung Hero Award, which is given to an unheralded senior recognized as an overachiever and role model, selected by a vote of his teammates.

Salisbury, despite having limited action in his career, was revered by teammates for his hard work in the weight room and on the training ground and was one of the team’s most respected players.

Senior wide receiver Mychal Cooper (San Antonio, TX) was named the winner of the Cooke Award, which is given to the player who has done the most to promote team spirit.

Cooper, who was not only one of four Navy team captains but was also voted captain of all Naval Academy team captains, had a positive influence on both the pitch and off with his positive demeanor and friendly nature.

On the field, Cooper finished his career with 46 catches for 894 yards and seven touchdowns, while also serving as an outstanding tackler for the Navy run game.

Cooper’s career average of 19.4 yards per catch ranks fifth in school history and remarkably, his seven touchdown catches have come from six different quarterbacks in his career. Cooper played in the NFL Players Association Collegiate Bowl in January.

Senior defensive tackle J’arius Warren (Long Beach, Mississippi) received the Outstanding Lineman Award, given annually to a member of the promotion who, as a football inside lineman, excelled as a student-athlete and contributed to the leadership and spirit of the ‘team.

Warren played 35 games on the defensive line, starting at 27, and finished with 116 career tackles, 10.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries and three forced fumbles while playing at the both defensive end and defensive tackle. He had a career-high 14 tackles against Army as a junior.