America’s science fiction and fantasy writers (SFWA) announced the winners of Nebula Prize 2020 at 56th Annual Nebula Banquet during the 2021 SFWA Nebula Conference.

Nalo Hopkinson became the 37th Grandmaster Damon Knight, for her contributions to science fiction and fantasy literature. The Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award went to Connie Willis. The Kate Willhelm Solstice Award went to Ben Bova, Rachel Caine and Jarvis Sheffield.



  • “Tower of mud and straw”, Yaroslav Barsukov (Metaphorosis 09/25/20)
  • Finna, Nino Cipri (Tordotcom)
  • “Ife-Iyoku, the tale of Imadeyunuagbon”, Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald (Domination)
  • The four deep weavings, RB Lemberg (Tachyon)
  • Riot Baby, Tochi Onyebuchi (Tordotcom)


  • WINNER: “Two Truths and One Lie”, Sarah Pinsker ( 06/17/20)
  • “Stepsister”, Leah Cypess (F&SF 5-6 / 20)
  • “The Pill”, Meg Elison (Tall girl)
  • “Burn or the episodic life of Sam Wells in super”, AT Greenblatt (Astonishing 05-06 / 20)
  • “Where You Linger,” Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam (Astonishing 1-2 / 20)
  • “Shadow Prisons”, Caroline M. Yoachim (serialized in the Dystopian Triptych series under the title “The Shadow Prison Experiment”, “Shadow Prisons of the Mind”, “The Shadow Prisoner’s Dilemma”)

Short story

  • WINNER: “Doors Open on Haunted Hill,” John Wiswell (Devilish conspiracies 06/15/20)
  • “Badass Moms in the Zombie Apocalypse”, Rae Carson (Astonishing 1-2 / 20)
  • “Advanced Word Problems in Portal Math”, Aimee Picchi (Daily sci-fi 1/3/20)
  • “A Guide for Working Breeds”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad (On demand)
  • “The Eight Thousand”, Jason Sanford (Asimov’s 9 / 10-20)
  • “My country is a ghost”, Eugenia Triantafyllou (Astonishing 1-2 / 20)

Game writing

  • WINNER: Hades, Greg Kasavin (Supergeant)
  • Blaseball, Stephen Bell, Joel Clark and Sam Rosenthal (The Game Band)
  • Kentucky Route Zero, Jake Elliott (cardboard computer)
  • The Luminous Underground, Phoebe Barton (Games selection)
  • Scents & Semiosis, Sam Kabo Ashwell, Cat Manning, Caleb Wilson & Yoon Ha Lee (Self)
  • Spiritfarer, Nicolas Guérin, Maxime Monast & Alex Tommi-Morin (Thunder Lotus)

Ray Bradbury Award

  • WINNER: The right place: “As soon as you are ready”
  • Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of a Harley Quinn
  • The extent: “Gaugamela”
  • Lovecraft Country, Season 1
  • The Mandalorian: “The tragedy”
  • The old guard

André Norton Prize

Locus Magazine, Fantasy Science-FictionWhile you are here please take a moment to support Location with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on donations from readers to keep the magazine and site running, and would like to keep the site’s paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT pursue quality coverage of science fiction and fantasy.

© Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission from LSFF.

Source link