By Hamilton Richardson

Elmore/Autauga News

In an ongoing effort to promote the business community and celebrate the successes of Prattville and area small businesses, the Prattville Area Chamber of Commerce is again calling for nominations for the Small Business of the Year Awards, with a deadline that is fast approaching. of July 29.

House Speaker Patty VanderWal said of the awards, “Prattville and Autauga County are home to a variety of successful small businesses that positively impact our community every day. The Small Business of the Year Awards are an opportunity for these companies to be highlighted for their service.

The Small Business Awards are designed to recognize growing small businesses located in Prattville or Autauga County for their accomplishments and the important role they play in the community, a chamber press release said.

“The Prattville Chamber Small Business Committee works diligently to support and promote small businesses in Prattville and Autauga County,” said Catherine Porter, chair of the Prattville Chamber Small Business Committee. “These companies are a foundation of our community, and we want to showcase their hard work and positive impact.”

VanderWal added: “As we have seen with Covid-19 and other challenges, our small businesses are constantly overcoming obstacles and choosing to serve our community. Their perseverance is something that should not be overlooked. The Small Business of the Year Awards allow us to celebrate the hard work of our businesses in Prattville and Autauga County. »

Small business nominating small businesses must include a “Business Overview”, sharing what the business does, including business history and a description of the products and services provided, “Leadership and Community Support “, explaining how small business is a leader in the business community and supports the local community, “Chamber Participation”, explaining how small business participates and plays a leadership role in the Prattville Area Chamber of Commerce , and “Business Success,” including customer growth and focus, industry awards, or program initiative.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be located in Prattville and/or Autauga County
  • Must be a member in good standing of the Prattville Area Chamber of Commerce at the time of nomination and event
  • Must have 100 employees or less
  • Must be in business for at least one (1) year
  • Must be a profitable entity and not a non-profit organization
  • Demonstrates a commitment to social responsibility and community involvement (volunteering, fundraising, internships, mentoring or financial contributions)

The deadline for nominations is Friday 29 July and nominations can be submitted online at Winners will be chosen by a panel of peers in various categories, based on their demonstrated commitment to advancing business in Prattville and Autauga County.

For more information on the Small Business of the Year awards, please contact Director of Marketing and Communications Allison Powell at [email protected] or call 334-365-7392.