TORONTO, May 28, 2021 / CNW / – The Ontario Medical Association Rewards program celebrated its 100e Friday night recognizing outstanding physicians, residents, medical students and community leaders for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the medical profession and healthcare in Ontario.

Ontario Medical Association (CNW Group / Ontario Medical Association)

The awards were presented by outgoing OMA President Dr Sohail Gandhi at a gala that took place virtually because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We are here tonight to recognize the accomplishments of our colleagues and, while we will nominate 67 exceptionally deserving individuals, this year you all deserve to be recognized,” said the OMA President. Samantha hill, whose one-year term ends on Saturday. “I see you and I honor your resilience.”

A new Emerging Leader Award was presented for the first time to an early-career physician who has demonstrated leadership abilities in shaping the future of medicine. The award recipients are physicians who act as a positive role model for their peers and colleagues with a demonstrated commitment to meaningful contributions, social responsibility, political advocacy, partnership building, innovation and advocacy. health policy.

The first recipient of this award is Dr. Silvy mathew, a family doctor at Toronto who sits on the Government-OMA Physician Services Committee and the Central West Toronto Ontario Health Team Executive Project Advisory Committee. She was a member of the board of directors of the OMA of May 2018 at May 2020.

“Dr. Mathew is described by her peers as an inspiring leader, as evidenced by her clinical and organizational work,” said Dr. Gandhi. “Her deep care for her patients makes her an empathetic and efficient clinician. She has demonstrated a commitment to social responsibility and is a strong advocate for gender equality in medicine and society.

The other winners of this year:

OMA Life Membership Award
OMA Life Membership is awarded to members who have made an outstanding contribution to the work of the OMA, to the medical profession and medical science, or to the common good at the provincial level, and who have achieved the age 65.

  • Dr. Susan Abbey

  • Dr. Katherine Darbyshire

  • Dr. Raymond Edwards

  • Dr. Ian forrest

  • Dr. Leon Genesove

  • Dr. Robert hamilton

  • Dr. Raymond Harb

  • Dr. Ingrid Harle

  • Dr. Anne Hennessy

  • Dr. John hollingsworth

  • Dr Christopher Jyu

  • Dr. Byron lemmex

  • Dr. Glenn martin

  • Dr. Fergus mcnestry

  • Dr Bharat Nathoo

  • Dr. Noseworthy review

  • Dr. David Opper

  • Dr Michael Paré

  • Dr. Gregory Peachey

  • Dr Roman Preobrazenski

  • Dr Kiran Rabheru

  • Dr. Steven reinhart

  • Dr. Michael semoff

  • Dr Lucian Sitwell

  • Dr. William splinter

Honorary member of the OMA: André Picard, Globe and Mail health columnist

Honorary membership is awarded for achieving eminence in the sciences and / or humanities through outstanding service to the OMA, the medical profession, medical science, or service to the common good at the provincial level. Members are generally not physicians.

OMA Centenary Award Lisa Paul St. John Ambulance, which worked closely with the OMA to obtain PPE during the pandemic

Established to commemorate the centennial of the OMA in 1980, the Centennial Award is presented to a non-physician in recognition of his or her outstanding achievement in the service of the health and well-being of the people of Ontario through long distinguished services and / or acts.

Distinguished Service Award Dr. Albert Ng

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member of the OMA for his or her long-standing outstanding service to the OMA and to patients of Ontario.

Mentor Award for Students and Residents Dr. Kelly howse

The Mentor Award for Students and Residents is presented to a physician or non-physician in recognition of outstanding contributions that have greatly benefited medical students or residents of Ontario.

Presidential Award Dr. Ruth mathieson

The Presidential Award is presented in recognition of outstanding and long-standing humanitarian service to the larger community (in Ontario or elsewhere) that brings honor to the medical profession. The recipient’s actions express the highest qualities of service from a physician whom we all admire.

Glenn Sawyer Service Price

This award was established in 1972 in honor of Dr Glenn Sawyer, the longest serving Secretary General of the OMA. It is awarded in recognition of significant service to the OMA, the medical profession or the public at the community level.

  • Dr. Mariana Silva

  • Dr. Shabbir Amanullah

  • Dr. Dusan Sijan

  • Dr. Gary Smith

  • Dr. Jonathan fitzsimon

  • Dr. Ron taylor

  • Dr Jegapathy Rajendra

  • Dr. Sharon bal

Community service award

The Community Service Award is presented annually to non-physicians for their significant contribution to the health and well-being of the inhabitants of a local community, as defined by their involvement in community health and public welfare. , including length of engagement, roles fulfilled in local organizations and achievements.

  • Wendy muckle

  • Fred larsen

  • Brian smith

Section service price

The Section Service Award is given in recognition of important service to the section, the medical profession or the public within a section.

  • Dr. Adam stewart – SGFP

  • Dr. Karima khamisa – Hematology

  • Dr. Harold Pupko – PCMH

  • Dr. Janice Willett – OBGYN

Award of Excellence for Medical Students

The Medical Student Award of Excellence is awarded for significant contributions at the political and / or community level that help advance the lives and / or education of all medical students. The award may be presented annually to one student from each of the six provincial medical schools.

  • Celine Sayed (University of Ottawa)

  • Ushma Purohit (University of Toronto)

  • Brintha Sivajohan (Western University)

  • Ikunna Nwosu (Queen’s University)

  • Christine miller (NOSM)

  • Kay wu (McMaster University)

OMA Resident Award of Excellence

The Resident Achievement Award is presented for outstanding contribution to the advancement of postgraduate education. Since 2007, the award can be presented annually to a resident of each of the six provincial medical schools.

  • Dr. Athena Young (Northern Ontario School of Medicine)

  • Dr. Christopher clarkstone (McMaster University)

  • Dr. Jonathan cluett (Queen’s University)

  • Dr. Megan Lim (University of Ottawa)

  • Dr. William Kyle Silverstein (University of Toronto)

  • Dr. Timothy miao (Western University)

CMA Honorary Award (Presented by Dr. Ann collins, President of the Canadian Medical Association)

CMA Honorary Membership is awarded to members who have made outstanding contributions to the Canadian Medical Association through its Board of Directors, committees, General Council or Canadian medicine.

  • Dr. Howard adams

  • Dr. Karen gulenchyn

  • Dr. John Thorne

  • Dr. Susan wilkinson

  • Dr. Gary Victor

  • Dr Christopher Jyu

  • Dr. Stephen buchman

  • Dr. Francine Lemire

  • Dr. Martin Padmos

About the OMA

The Ontario Medical Association represents From ontario Over 43,000 physicians, medical students and retired physicians who advocate and support physicians while strengthening physician leadership roles in patient care. Our vision is to be the trusted voice in transformation From ontario health care system.

SOURCE Ontario Medical Association



Show original content to download multimedia: