Ryan koslen

AD / Communication Associate

CINCINNATI – University of Cincinnati quarterback Desmond Ridder (Louisville, Ky. / St. Xavier) was one of 80 players named to the preseason watchlist for the 85th annual Maxwell Awards, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, who was a former Swarthmore College star and a famous sports writer and football official.

Ridder is one of six 2020 Maxwell Prize semi-finalists on the watch list, joining Grayson McCall (Carolina Coast), Breece Hall (Iowa State), D’Eriq King (Miami), Sam Howell (Caroline du Nord) and Dillon Gabriel (UCF).

View full Maxwell Price Watch List Online.

After a stint as an advisor at the annual Manning Passing Academy, Ridder begins his senior season at UC as the No. 2 passer in school history, throwing 6,905 yards and 57 touchdowns in his three seasons. previous ones.

He was the 2020 American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year, 2021 AAC Championship Game MVP and 2018 AAC Rookie of the Year, helping the Bearcats win a 2020 AAC Championship and appearance. at Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, a New Years Six game.

A 2020 Manning Award finalist, Ridder has 22 career rushing touchdowns, most often for a UC QB and tied for No.8 in Bearcats history. He is the active career leader in winning percentage among NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision callers, winning over 88% of his career debut.

Off the field, he earned his bachelor’s degree and was named the winner of the First All-District Academic Team by America’s University Sports Information Directors.

Cincinnati opens the 2021 season on Saturday, September 4 against Miami (OH) in the 125th Battle for the Victory Bell at 3:30 p.m. ET inside Nippert Stadium.

Visit the football tickets page to book your subscriptions now!


Cincinnati finished 9-1 in 2020, winning the US Athletic Conference Championship and playing in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, a New Years Six Bowl. The Bearcats return 16 starters from last season’s squad, including Ridder and seven All-America caps Ahmad Gardner with All-AAC selections Darrian Castors, Marcus Brown, Coby bryant, Myjai Sanders, Tre Tucker, Josh whyle and Michael Young Jr. The 2021 roster expects to have nearly 40 local players who grew up and played high school football in the tri-state area.



New season ticket holders who shop on a Friday between 9 a.m. and noon ET will be entered into a draw to win various Bearcats prizes. Fans should follow @GoBEARCATS on social media and tune in every Thursday this summer for the weekly prize announcements.


For all the latest Cincinnati football information, please visit GoBEARCATS.com. For last minute updates, follow Cincinnati Football (@GoBearcatsFB) and trainer Fickell (@CoachFick) on Twitter. You can also find the Bearcats on Instagram and Facebook.

Related videos